I Kind of Want An Overwatch Doll

The Overwatch game is rated T for Teen, but the rest of the franchise is actually pretty kid friendly. Which is probably why I can’t stop thinking about how Overwatch would make for some really awesome toys.

The merch available is pretty generic. They’ve got shirts, Funko Pops, stationary, mugs, plushies of Winston, posters, other clothes, and the like. But mostly shirts. Not much else.I mean, come on, think of all the action figures you can make of the characters. What kid wouldn’t want to play with these characters? If a kid is interested in Overwatch but is too young to play the game, I think making toys of the characters is a great alternative.

And I know it’s unlikely to happen, but I would love to see dolls of the female characters. I know dolls for Zarya, Mei, and Ana might be a little harder to make, but I still think all the women would make beautiful dolls.

Now, there’s a market for adults that sells collectible dolls. Those with a lot of detail and care put into them. I wouldn’t be too surprised if there are some Overwatch fans who wouldn’t mind having them to collect.

But also, I feel like they could be great for little girls too, even if they aren’t interested in the rest of the franchise. The women of Overwatch are all diversely beautiful. I can totally imagine a little girl looking at a doll of one of them, getting excited, and wanting to have it. I can especially imagine a brown and/or amputee girl (yes they exist, look up the War Amps) loving a Symmetra doll.

At any rate, there’s a goldmine of opportunity released by this game. I do hope we get a better variety of merch soon, even if they’re not toys, because the current slate is kind of underwhelming. I’m hoping eventually we’ll get an animated TV series of movie, and when that comes, they’re definitely going to need a better quantity of merchandise to market the film and make it a success.

But more than anything, I want a Symmetra doll.

 

Author: Laura Alexander

Hello! Laura here. I am autistic and I love animation. My fave movies are "Big Hero 6" and "Wreck-It Ralph". This is where I'll talk about my thoughts and feelings on animated shows and movies, among other things.

Leave a Reply

