Upcoming Disney 2017

2016 proved to be a pretty huge year for Disney. Captain America: Civil War, Zootopia, Finding Dory, and The Jungle Book became the top grossing films of the year, with Rogue One and Moana also proving to be big hits, and they more than made up for the less successful features (The BFG, Alice Through the Looking Glass).

For this year, Disney will play a little safer and stick to a smaller slate, with the following films:

  • Beauty and the Beast live-action remake
  • Born in China documentary (by DisneyNature)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy sequel
  • The next Pirates of the Caribbean film
  • Cars 3
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (with Sony)
  • Thor: Ragnarok
  • Coco
  • Star Wars Episode VIII

My thoughts?

Well, I’ve ranted before on how the BatB remake has terrible looking CGI and unfortunate looking designs. I’m sort of warming up to the Beast’s design but the household staff all look creepy. But I’m kind of liking what’s been released. I think the Beast in this version is going to be more gentle and kind (as a way to appease the naysayers of the first film, probably). In the newest TV spot, I liked how Belle said “I never thanked you for saving my life” and the Beast replied “I never thanked you for not leaving me to be eaten by wolves”. That’s adorable. And Emma Watson can sing! So who knows. I think my family’s going to make me see it anyway. I just really wish they did a better job with the side characters.

I’m not really into Disney’s documentaries so I’ll pass on BiC.

I’m kind fatigued from Marvel (I hated Captain America 3 and didn’t bother seeing Doctor Strange) but I might have to see their films this year because they’re sequels to my faves. I can only hope they don’t completely ruin them. I’m a little more excited for GotG 2 than Thor 2 because GotG looks like a lot of fun (baby Groot is adorable and we might finally see Gamora and Star Lord get it on) and I’m too scared for the fate of Asgard and Thor. We’ll see.

No desire to see Pirates of the Caribbean (it went immediately downhill after the first film for me) or any more Spider-Man films.

I’m not really into Star Wars like other people and didn’t LOVE The Force Awakens but I might need to see number 8 for Carrie Fisher (rest in peace).

As for Pixar’s offerings…I’m kind of torn.

Cars 3 had a really brilliant (albeit horrifying) teaser trailer, but with more plot details revealed, apparently the villains are supposed to represent millennials?

Yeah, the plot is that Lightning McQueen is being usurped by younger, newer models. According to EW: From an ideological standpoint, Jackson embodies the extreme entitlement that has come to plague millennial descriptions. “He thinks the world is his. He’s taking over. He’s owed it,” says Fee. “In a very broad term, I think of old football players with those little leather skull caps, and you think of football players now with all their armor, hitting so hard. It’s not the same game. What they did was not anything like what we do now. And that’s Jackson: He thinks the future of racing and the high-tech ways they train and what they can do means they’re taking the sport to a new level, and the older guys had their day, and it’s done, and they have no place in the future of racing.”

I’m not sure if that’s just EW’s interpretation or if that’s actually the route Pixar’s going with. Either way, it’s really shitty. As a millennial myself, I find the depiction of my generation as entitled and lazy really dishonest. Sure you have some privileged rich kids who really do think the world owes them everything, but a lot of millennials are poor college students or graduates who can’t find a good job and can’t afford their needs and wants due to inflation (and because employers refuse to have paid interns or pay more than minimum wage). So this is…kind of disrespectful.

And then there’s Coco. Here’s the first image:

coco pixar migeul

Looks strikingly similar to The Book of Life and Kubo and the Two Strings, doesn’t it? In fact a lot of people are pointing out how the plot, about a Mexican boy who wants to be a musician but is being forced to carry his family’s tradition and ends up in the land of the dead, is eerily similar to The Book of Life. Anything can happen between now and then, though.There’s also a lot of controversy how TBoL didn’t get picked up by major animation studios for over a decade and once it became successful Pixar NOW decides to go ahead with their own Day of the Dead film. Let’s be real, though, the last truly great and original film Pixar made was Up (and Toy Story 3 was their last truly great film, period). I’m not surprised they’re reaching the lowest common denominator for both their offerings. Still, you can’t knock representation when you see it, especially with the current political climate.

We also have a lot of new TV shows and specials being released this year, and the one receiving the most hype is, of course, the Tangled Before Ever After (released in February) and Tangled: The Series (in March). It looks visually nice but I think the target audience is toddlers and preschoolers. I’m not sure why Tangled needs a continuation (it ended on a good note and is remembered and marketed fondly enough) but hey, whatever floats Disney’s boats. But the shows people are really excited for are the DuckTales reboot (coming in the summer) and the Big Hero 6 series (coming in the fall, much to my sadness). They have potential and can be really exciting and fun. You can find all information on all the things Disney is releasing in 2017 HERE.

So this will be an interesting year full of potential. I’ll be sure to check out what I can and get back to you.

Author: Laura Alexander

Hello! Laura here. I am autistic and I love animation. My fave movies are "Big Hero 6" and "Wreck-It Ralph". This is where I'll talk about my thoughts and feelings on animated shows and movies, among other things.

Leave a Reply

