Moana Voice Cast Announcement

So Disney has FINALLY released more info on the cast and characters of Moana. About time! But I still think they’re hiding a few things.

In addition to Moana and Maui, we now know that Hei Hei the rooster has been changed from being aggressive to dim witted and is voiced by Alan Tudyk (whose roles are getting progressively weirder, but hey, he has the range!). Tudyk is also supposed to play two other characters that haven’t been announced. Moana’s grandmother Tala is voiced by Rachel House, and she has BOTH her parents (holy shit!), Tui and Sina, voiced by Temuera Morrison and Nicole Scherzinger respectively. There are also the coconut pirates (with no announced voices) and a villainous, monstrous, yet comical crab named Tamatoa, voiced by Jemaine Clement. Pua the pig is silent.

For some reason, they haven’t said who exactly Philippa Soo plays. She’s a pretty big name, I can’t image she’d only get a minor, nameless role. But most importantly, what about that living island/lava woman? I’m pretty sure she’s a major character, and I think she’s supposed to be the real villain. I’m sorry, but I really don’t buy the fact that Tamatoa is the MAIN villain. Considering Disney’s recent streak, the important thing to note is that the villain is NEVER who you think it’s going to be. I’m pretty sure Tamatoa is going to be a decoy antagonist to make room for the REAL villain. Besides, an angry lava island woman is much more threatening and awesome.

I might be wrong, but I think Disney’s hiding the actual plot of the movie because I keep hearing different information that seems to contradict each other. In the trailer we see Maui with his fish hook, but apparently he’s lost it and is trying to get it back from the crab? Is the hook we see him with a non-magical replacement? I’m confused. There are also other plot details that don’t make a lot of sense. Hopefully it will all come together soon.

I’m still excited for this movie at any rate. Even if the story isn’t that great, the music, visuals, and characters should be more than worth the wait.

Author: Laura Alexander

Hello! Laura here. I am autistic and I love animation. My fave movies are "Big Hero 6" and "Wreck-It Ralph". This is where I'll talk about my thoughts and feelings on animated shows and movies, among other things.

Leave a Reply

