Why Overwatch’s New Character is Revolutionary

The widely popular Overwatch is now starting to expand its roster, and the first new hero is a very remarkable one.

One of the main criticisms surrounding Overwatch is that all the female characters have to be, well, young. Men get to be old but the women don’t. It seems that Overwatch has listened to this criticism and provided an older woman, Ana (the mother of Pharah).

(image via Overwatch website. You can find more images and footage of her online.)

Why is this important? Because it’s one of the few portrayals of a woman in ANY piece of media that is allowed to age gracefully and still be powerful.

In a lot of media, if you’re not a young, nubile woman, you’re either an evil old hag, or a grandmother who doesn’t have much to offer. Very few movies and TV shows break this mold, and it’s almost unheard of for games to do such. But here comes Ana, who is a beautiful but still visibly older woman (with an eyepatch no less) who has a complex backstory and is a badass playable character with her own unique set of skills and is integral to her team.

The addition of this character is simply incredible and VERY important. I’m looking forward to all the other new characters to be introduced in the wonderful world of Overwatch.

Author: Laura Alexander

Hello! Laura here. I am autistic and I love animation. My fave movies are "Big Hero 6" and "Wreck-It Ralph". This is where I'll talk about my thoughts and feelings on animated shows and movies, among other things.

3 thoughts on “Why Overwatch’s New Character is Revolutionary”

  1. Great post! I love really love Ana’s story and how she switches from being a killer to being a supporter (my friend called her an “overprotective mom” haha) because she failed to protect those she cared for against Widowmaker . Just shows her heart is in a good place, and she’s easily one of my favorite heroes.

    I’m actually the Community Content Manager for NowLoading.co, and I would be thrilled if you considered cross posting your stuff to our platform. If you don’t know much about us- we’re the sister site to MoviePilot.com, and push to give awesome writers (like yourself) the exposure they deserve. Feel free to email me! tyler@nowloading.co

    Like

    1. Thank you!
      Funny, I actually got a moderator asking me to e-mail them and start writing for Moviepilot/creators.co! So I guess I’m going to end up writing on all of your sites! Just give me some time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

