Thoughts on Upcoming Disney Films

So, as of July 2016, the following WDAS and Pixar films are confirmed for release in the next five or so years:

  1. Moana (WDAS, November 2016)
  2. Cars 3 (Pixar, June 2017)
  3. Coco (Pixar, November 2017)
  4. Wreck It Ralph sequel (WDAS, March 2018)
  5. Toy Story 4 (Pixar, June 2018)
  6. Gigantic (WDAS, November 2018)
  7. The Incredibles 2 (Pixar, June 2019)
  8. Frozen 2 (WDAS, release date not yet confirmed, though I think they’re hoping for a 2019 release)

After that, Pixar is said to have four completely original movies in the works, but we don’t have any info on them yet. We have no info on WDAS films after Frozen 2 as of now.

I have made my excitement for Moana and Wreck-It Ralph 2 abundantly clear. It goes without saying I hope they’re great and successful. What about the other films?

Well, I gotta say, I’m pretty miffed we’re getting The Incredibles 2 so late (even though literally everyone wants to see it) but we’re getting Cars 3 and Toy Story 4 (which no one is in a hurry to see) first. Cars 3 in particular worries me because I’m wondering if they’ve really worked on it for awhile or if they’re rushing it out to make a quick buck. I kind of hope this movie turns out to be REALLY good given how hated the first two films are because I do NOT want this franchise to go down as the Pixar series that was only made for money, no creativity involved. I might see Cars 3 on Netflix or something, but I’m not going to see it in theaters unless nothing else is on.

As for Toy Story 4, well, I’m a little upset they’re not ending the franchise with the third movie (which was a perfect conclusion), but I am actually kind of glad they’re not going to leave Bo Peep hanging. I guess I have mixed feelings? I’m not a diehard Toy Story fan so I don’t really understand why we need a whole movie dedicated to ‘romance’ and ‘finding Bo Peep’ when we could have had an extra special TV short or something. I guess ultimately we’ll have to see how it works. I have more faith in it than Cars 3 at any rate.

As for The Incredibles 2…I’m sorry, but I’m getting extremely frustrated with it being constantly pushed back. What is going on? And since this wait is so long, this movie better be effing AWESOME. If it isn’t, no one will let Disney and Pixar live it down. I want to be excited as all hell, but I’m sorry, it’s really hard. I hope when it finally comes out it becomes the biggest and best movie EVER.

So yeah, not totally excited for all these Pixar sequels, but I am looking forward to Coco. It’s an original Pixar film set in Mexico for Dia de los Muertes. It’s kind of upsetting it’s taken Pixar THIS LONG to make a film that doesn’t focus on Americans or white people, but hey, they’re learning. I think even if the story isn’t great, this movie should be a visual feast (and hopefully distinct from The Book of Life). And after that trademark controversy, they should be careful when paying respects to Mexican culture. So, hopefully that will be good.

I don’t know anything about Gigantic other than it’s based (loosely) on Jack and the Beanstalk and Jack becomes friends with a little girl giant. It could be cute, but I just wish we could set it in someplace other than Fantasyland Europe. I’m pretty bored with that set piece. I just hope it’s not a rehash of Frozen or Tangled.

And finally Frozen 2…well, you know I’m not really a fan of the first Frozen (though I love analyzing Elsa’s character and thinking of how the movie COULD have gone) so I’m not excited. That said, the first movie went through major problems and developmental hell, so maybe this time they’ll make a smoother, more coherent final product. And we’ll actually get some character development from Elsa. My only concern is that it’s obvious this movie is getting made in order to keep the Frozen hype alive forever, so if this movie gets made in the same year or after The Incredibles 2, it won’t be successful at all.

So I guess I’m sort of…indifferent to a lot of these projects. But hey, they could prove me totally wrong! We’ll have to see.

Author: Laura Alexander

Hello! Laura here. I am autistic and I love animation. My fave movies are "Big Hero 6" and "Wreck-It Ralph". This is where I'll talk about my thoughts and feelings on animated shows and movies, among other things.

Leave a Reply

