Moana Teaser Thoughts

It’s been a long day, but it’s finally here.

The animation is gorgeous. The 2D animation in particular is refreshing and stunning. We don’t really know much about the plot, but we know a LOT about Maui. He has impressive tattoos that can move on their own, he can perform a mean taumu (a traditional Samoan dance), and he has a lot of pride in himself. And he can shapeshift. I’m going to take a guess that he’s actually really insecure and is trying very hard to cover it, and Moana helps him with it.

We don’t know a lot about Moana herself though. One thing that I can discern is that it looks like she can fish. I’m actually kind of happy that we get to see her deploying some actual skill. I just wish she had more lines other than “Umm”.

Pua the pig looks absolutely adorable.

There are other clips presented without context that hype up the film but don’t say anything about what it’s about.

There’s really not much else I can say since we know so little about the plot and I have nothing to comment on. I’m just glad it has more footage instead of a single scene that doesn’t even make it into the final movie.

Well, I do know that there will be more Moana info this week with the Annecy International Animated Film Festival, so that should make up the lack of info with the teaser. I can’t wait for more!

Author: Laura Alexander

Hello! Laura here. I am autistic and I love animation. My fave movies are "Big Hero 6" and "Wreck-It Ralph". This is where I'll talk about my thoughts and feelings on animated shows and movies, among other things.

Leave a Reply

