Why isn’t Big Hero 6 a Franchise?

Big Hero 6

I ask this question almost every day. Whenever I go out, I see a startlingly lack of merchandise for anything related to this movie. The movie is still available, but books, toys, collectibles, or other products are scarce. What I find most alarming is the lack of Funko Pop! vinyl collectibles. You’re lucky if you can find a few Baymaxes, but if you want the other members, you’re out of luck (and this is saying a lot, since you can find a Funko Pop! for almost everything).

Granted, this might have to do with the fact that I live in Canada (we don’t get as much good stuff as the States does). But still, I can find so many products for Frozen (are people even buying it?), and something doesn’t sit right with me. What’s especially striking is that while apparently you can buy Big Hero 6 stuff at the Disney store online, you can’t actually find anything in store except Baymax plushies (and even then, that’s not a guarantee).

What really strikes me is that Big Hero 6 is a movie that is practically BEGGING for a franchise. It’s a movie about a diverse group of superheroes that fight crime and help people with the power of science. And it ends with a sequel hook of Fred and his secret superhero father. And it’s widely loved and popular. So why don’t I see more of it?

You could have:

  • Lots of toys
  • Books and shorts on science and technology with the BH6 team
  • Books and shorts on health and safety with Baymax and the team
  • Collectibles with ALL the members (not just Baymax)
  • Storybooks on all their different adventures
  • Costumes
  • Decorations
  • Figurines
  • Clothes
  • And so much more (think of all the stuff Frozen gets and see if BH6 can get some of it too)

Now, to be fair, I KNOW a TV series is going to come out in 2017, which is very good news. I hope when that show proves successful, BH6 will get the love it deserves (and if it doesn’t, something is seriously wrong). Until then, I’m going to be a little frustrated that I can’t find anything for my fave movie while Disney exploits franchises that it’s running into the ground with no relief and gives their other products the shaft.

Author: Laura Alexander

Hello! Laura here. I am autistic and I love animation. My fave movies are "Big Hero 6" and "Wreck-It Ralph". This is where I'll talk about my thoughts and feelings on animated shows and movies, among other things.

1 thought on “Why isn’t Big Hero 6 a Franchise?”

Leave a Reply

