Beauty and the Beast Teaser Thoughts

Disney live action remakes tend to be either really great or really, well, not great, so I’m a little nervous how they’re going to handle the remake for one of my all time fave movies. With the teaser trailer we get a sneak peek of what’s to come, but we probably won’t get more info until either later this year or next year.

What do I think of what we’ve got so far?

Well, I love he music. I love how it’s almost the same from the original. It gives me the impression that this movie is going to be (mostly) loyal to it. The music also adds a nice atmosphere to the trailer.

I’m not sure how I feel about the casting. I like Ian McKellan as Cogsworth, but I’m not sure how I like Ewan McGregor as Lumiere. I feel like they should have cast Patrick Stewart, since he and McKellan do have a history of acting brilliantly alongside each other and could pull off Lumiere and Cogsworth’s relationship. Ewan seems too young to be Lumiere, and his French accent is terrible, sorry. As for Emma Watson, I’m sure she can convey Belle’s personality, but I don’t think she really LOOKS the part of Belle? I’ll have to see before I pass a major judgement on that though.

I know I might get flack for this, but I REALLY don’t like the colour scheme. With the exception of the rose, everything is this bland blue and orange palette used in every trailer nowadays and I’m worried that’s the final look they’re going for. The original movie had deep, lush purples and golds and reds and blues and was overall a visual feast but this movie doesn’t have that. And the set pieces we’re shown so far aren’t given a lot of character either.

I guess basically my ears are liking it (except for Lumiere’s new voice), but my eyes are not. I just hope the CGI used on the Beast and other characters (because let’s face it there’s probably not going to be a lot of makeup and prosthetics) will fit in seamlessly (like in The Jungle Book) and not stand out.

I think it goes without saying that I REALLY hope that it’s going to be completely faithful to the first movie. Please be more like The Jungle Book and less like Alice in Wonderland.

Overall, am I excited? Not yet. But hopefully that will change soon enough.

Author: Laura Alexander

My name is Laura, I use they/them pronouns, and I'm an autistic college student currently enrolled at the Social Service Worker Program at Sheridan College. I have a passion for film and animation, social issues, and helping others, all of which will be featured on my blog. "Big Hero 6" is my favourite movie.

Leave a Reply

