Why I Love Deadpool

In an age of (live action) superhero movies taking themselves too seriously, along comes the very refreshing Deadpool. It was highly profane, extremely violent, very sexual, and totally awesome. It was a movie that totally didn’t give a crap, and I admire it for that. Here are some other reasons why I love this movie (and by extension, the titular character).

It’s The Perfect Length

For some ungodly reason, a lot of superhero movies feel the need to be over two hours long! This movie is only just over an hour and a half. Just enough time to tell a story with some action and comedy without padding it out with pointless scenes.

It Perfectly Balances Comedy and Drama

It knows exactly when to be serious and gritty and when to be funny and totally not serious. The movie gives you enough drama without being totally overwhelming. We don’t need the entire movie to be all about Deadpool’s pain and suffering and angst. We just need one major scene to explain why he is and that’s it. For the most part it doesn’t take itself serious (which is pretty refreshing), but when it does have to be serious, it knows for how long.

There’s No Political Bullshit

I’m starting to hate it when superheroes bring in politics because a lot of the time it doesn’t work. It either gets brushed aside and/or takes up all the fun. With this movie we aren’t bogged down with Deadpool having to be held accountable or having to obey the law or any of that shit. He does what he wants and takes us along for the ride. (And I know you’re probably thinking ‘but he’s not a superhero!’ well we’re meant to root for him in the movie that was marketed as a superhero movie so yeah, I’m counting this as a superhero movie.)

The Women Are Awesome

I am utterly in love with Vanessa. She’s sexual without being demonized for it, she doesn’t take anyone’s crap, and even manages to save herself. But she also manages to be kind and caring, too. I like how even though she’s brought up as this tough woman you see her honestly concerned for Wade’s health and would do anything for him. Negasonic Teenage Warhead was a very believable teenage girl, not made into being overly childish/infantilized or overly mature (and is just overall really cool) and I like how Angel Dust is given super strength (a power you don’t often associate with women) and was allowed to go toe-to-toe with a man. In short, the women were all genuinely INTERESTING. I need to see more of that.

And, this is the most important reason why I love Deadpool (both the movie and character)…

It’s One of the Better Portrayals of Mental Illness

What I absolutely love about Deadpool is that he’s gone through so much and is no longer mentally well or sane but is ALLOWED to be a funny, likable, and even sympathetic and compelling character. While the movie doesn’t go into detail about all his mental disorders due to budget and time constrictions, it’s still really clear that Deadpool doesn’t exactly have a sound mind, and is, well, insane. In any other movie, Deadpool would either be the oh so ‘scary psychopath/sociopath’ with no feelings or nothing but tragic. Deadpool is a unique and even uplifting portrayal of someone with mental health problems. While I do think Deadpool (both the movie and comic book versions) should get help (which is probably not going to happen, unfortunately), I like how Deadpool is such an enjoyable character who’s difficulties and disabilities don’t completely define him.

There are other reasons, but those are my top five. I love Deadpool so much now I want him to appear in all superhero properties (which WON’T happen, but it would be such a riot if it did). In short, Deadpool is one of the better and more enjoyable superhero movies to come out recently, and I hope the sequel maintains that.

Author: Laura Alexander

Hello! Laura here. I am autistic and I love animation. My fave movies are "Big Hero 6" and "Wreck-It Ralph". This is where I'll talk about my thoughts and feelings on animated shows and movies, among other things.

Leave a Reply

