More thoughts.

I realize I like to do analyses of shows and movies, but I don’t really like doing traditional reviews (unless I can add some special insight or a different point of view). They just feel boring to do. And I don’t want to just blandly lay out the history of certain franchises either without inputting my perspective in it. I was going to do something like that for The Jungle Book but I got bored really fast. All you need to know is that I don’t like the third act of the original animated movie and I hate the vaguely separatist propaganda ending (but I enjoy everything else) and the 2016 remake is a cinematic masterpiece that everyone should watch (especially if you’re a Lupita Nyong’o fan). I kind of wanted to add an insight on why The Jungle Book was so beloved in part because it was the last film Walt Disney worked on, buy I couldn’t properly articulate myself so I stopped.

So this blog is mostly going to be me doing analyses. Because I get really creative and passionate when I analysis why a certain character is autistic or lgbt, or why one thing worked and one thing didn’t, etc. Doing reviews is just boring, unless I have something really vital to say.

While I will add some feminist perspective on things, I am not going to talk verbatim on why Disney is problematic. Basing your media criticism/analysis SOLELY on Disney is lazy as hell, and also boring after awhile. So I’m not going to go on and on about Disney having problems with race and gender because literally everyone else has said that. I want to add something new to the Disney Discourse table.

I don’t want to be just another brick in the wall. I want to be unique. I want to encourage people to look at things another way. Most of all, I want to express myself and enjoy it at the same time.

Author: Laura Alexander

My name is Laura, I use they/them pronouns, and I'm an autistic college student currently enrolled at the Social Service Worker Program at Sheridan College. I have a passion for film and animation, social issues, and helping others, all of which will be featured on my blog. "Big Hero 6" is my favourite movie.

Leave a Reply

